Diego Monticelli takes the victory in Viterbo, Italy

Viterbo 28/05/2017. Last weekend the 4th round of the Italian Supermoto championship was held at the racetrack of Viterbo in the region of Lazio. After his win in the S2 European Supermoto championship in Greece, TM Factory Racing rider Diego Monticelli continued his strong performance in the past few weeks with an overall victory in Viterbo in front of Husqvarna rider Elia Sammartin and BRT SWM rider Edgardo Borella.

In the time practice Monticelli set the fastest time of 1:31:031, half a second in front of both BRT SWM riders Edgardo Borella and Marc-Reiner Schmidt who set the third time in this session. Schmidt was riding this weekend in memory of Philipp Prestel #95 who passed away last week after a crash in Germany. Husqvarna riders Elia Sammartin and Massimiliano Verderosa completed the top five.

Race one in the Supermoto class was won by Marc-Reiner Schmidt with a 7.409 seconds lead on the number two rider Diego Monticelli. Third in the first race was the teammate of Schmidt, Edgardo Borella followed by Elia Sammartin and Massimiliano Verderosa. In race two Marc-Reiner Schmidt was in the lead as well, but in lap four his SWM had some technical problems and Schmidt had to retire. Diego Monticelli took over first place and took the victory in front of Husqvarna rider Elia Sammartin who was having a very good weekend. Edgardo Borella finished in third again on almost 23 seconds of Monticelli. Max Verderosa finished in fourth position just in front of FRT Racing rider Fabrizio Bartolini. With his second and first place in the races, Diego Monticelli took the overall victory in Viterbo.

The next round of the 2017 Italian championship will be held in the weekend of 10/11th of June in Latina (LT).

Race 1 – Supermoto class – Viterbo

  1. Marc-Reiner Schmidt, SWM
  2. Diego Monticelli, TM
  3. Edgardo Borella, SWM
  4. Elia Sammartin, Husqvarna
  5. Max Verderosa, Husqvarna
  6. Andrea Occhini, Honda
  7. Teo Monticelli, Yamaha
  8. Luca d’Addato, Yamaha

Race 2 – Supermoto class – Viterbo

  1. Diego Monticelli, TM
  2. Elia Sammartin, Husqvarna
  3. Edgardo Borella, SWM
  4. Max Verderosa, Husqvarna
  5. Fabrizio Bartolini, Yamaha
  6. Andrea Ochhini, Honda
  7. Christian Ravaglia, Yamaha
  8. Teo Monticelli, Yamaha

Overall results Supermoto class – Viterbo

  1. Diego Monticelli, 47 points (22+25)
  2. Elia Sammartin 40 points (18+22)
  3. Edgardo Borella 40 points (20+20)
  4. Max Verderosa 34 points (16+18)
  5. Andrea Occhini 30 points (15+15)

Standings Italian Supermoto championship after Viterbo

  1. Marc-Reiner Schmidt  159 points
  2. Edgardo Borella  136 points
  3. Andrea Occhini  131 points
  4. Elia Sammartin  131 points
  5. Diego Monticelli  115 points
  6. Max Verderosa  114 points

All results can be found at

Photo: OffroadProRacing

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *