Devon Vermeulen wins the seventh round of the BeNeCup in Enter

Last weekend the seventh round of the 2017 BeNeCup Supermoto championship was held at roadcircuit “De Krompatte” in Enter, The Netherlands. Despite the holiday season all the top riders were present in Enter and they gave the crowd alongside the track a great show. In the Inters/Prestige class it was Honda rider Devon Vermeulen who took the overall victory in front of championship leader Kevin Vieillevoye and Team Degasoline rider Romain Kaivers.

During the time practice in the morning Devon Vermeulen already showed he was going to be the man to beat, but Kevin Vieillevoye also showed some impressive speed and was not far behind the fast Dutchman. At the start of the first race it was Devon Vermeulen who took the hole shot into the first tight corner, in front of Vieillevoye, Kaivers and Barber. Sebastien Bouillon completed the top five. Vermeulen en Vieillevoye soon managed to get away from the rest of the field. With only a few meters between them, Vermeulen en Vieillevoye challenged each other every lap and every corner of the track. Romain Kaivers gave all he had but he had to settle for third place already after a few laps. Kaivers in his turn couldn’t afford any mistakes as well, as English rider Ashley Barber was not far behind and closing in. In fifth it was Sebastien Bouillon for almost all race, but the Belgium rider got company at the end of the race and with one lap to go he was passed by Oliver Pope. In front Devon Vermeulen finished in first, only 00:2018 seconds in front of Kevin Vieillevoye. Kaivers took third place in front of Ashley Barber who finished in fourth place. The second race was almost a copy of the the first race. Vermeulen and Vieillevoye were catapulted from the start line never to be seen back by the others. In lap three Vieillevoye managed to pass Vermeulen in the off-road section of the race track, but the Dutch rider kept on pushing and after some very exiting laps Vermeulen took over first place again from the championship leader. Romain Kaivers was still in third followed on nine seconds by Sebastien Bouillon . KTM rider Ashley Barber was in fifth place but the English man had a intensive battle with the German rider Andre Plogmann, who closed in on Barber lap after lap. At the finishline the difference was only 00:010 second in favor of Ashley Barber who fifth place. In front it was Devon Vermeulen who took his second victory of the day, followed on 00:357 seconds by Kevin Vieillevoye and Romain Kaivers. With his two victories Vermeulen also the overall victory in front of Kevin Vieillevoye. Last place on the podium was for Romain Kaivers. Second best Dutch rider was Honda rider Wouter Straver who took seventh place overall.

In the Euro classe it was the young French rider Boris Lienard who took the overall victory in front of Dutch RV Suspension/MVD racewear rider Thieu Tausch. Third and last place of the podium was for Dutch Husqvarna rider John Boot.

The victory in the National class went to Belgium rider Sebastien Jamar followed by championship leader Francois Corman and Kevin Meyan who completed the podium.

The last race of the day was the Superfinal. With the best riders of each class, the Superfinal is always packed with action. Devon Vermeulen took the hole shot, with right behind him Kevin Vieillevoye who came from the second start row. Third place was for Romain Kaivers. Vermeulen lead the race almost all the way, but backmarkers made it quit tricky at the end of the race. With a few laps to go Vieillevoye passed the backmarkers quicker and took over first place from Vermeulen who got stuck behind them. Kevin Vieillevoye took the victory in the Superfinal before Devon Vermeulen and Romain Kaivers. German rider Andre Plogmann finished in fourth while Ashley Barber completes the top five.

The next race of the BeNeCup will be held at the historic racetrack of Chimay in the South of Belgium at 26 & 27th of August.

All results of this round can be found at


Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *